Moped and Scooter – laws and rules on Moped and Scooters in Georgia

Moped and Scooter. In Georgia, there are laws and regulations concerning Moped and Scooters. These laws vary depending on registrations, insurance, and licenses. If you are a Moped and Scooter rider in Georgia, you will not need to insure or register your vehicle; a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit is ok. Also, if your scooter has an engine with a displacement of 50cc or more, it will be subject to the same rules applicable to motorcycles. As a scooter driver, you will get a motorcycle license and insurance to use it.

Moped and Scooter - laws and rules on Moped and Scooters in Georgia

Moped and Scooter

Georgia Moped Laws

Georgia Laws state that ‘’Mopeds are 2 or 3 wheeled vehicles capable of producing a maximum of 2 horsepower or an engine displacement of 50cc’’ Mopeds cannot be legally operated on public roads where speed limits is greater than 35 miles per hour. If you want to operate a Moped in Georgia, you must be at least 15 years old and have a valid learner’s or driver’s license. Riders of mopeds are restricted to roads where the minimum speed limit is 35 mph or less. Also, if you are a Moped driver, you MUST wear a helmet.

Georgia Scooter Laws

Normally, Georgia does not make any distinction between scooters and motorcycles. This is because scooters have engines of over 50cc. They have the same license, registration, and insurance laws as motorcycles. Some scooters even have up to 150cc engines especially those produced by Honda, Yamaha, and Vespa. If you want to operate them legally, you must get:

  • A motorcycle license
  • Current registration
  • For insurance coverage levels, get bodily injury liability insurance of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Property damage liability insurance worth $25,000 per accident.

If you want to get a Georgia motorcycle license, you must be at least 17 years old. You must also pass road skills and vision as well as a knowledge exam.  If you take a state-endorsed exam, you will not take this test.

On the other hand, electric-Kick scooters have different guidelines. This is because they are larger and gas-powered. Riders of this type of scooters do not need a license, insurance or registration. If you have an electric scooter, you can ride it on bike lanes, paths, and on roads with a speed limit of 35mph or less. Do not use it on sidewalks, if you are less than 16, wear a helmet. Before you ride scooters in your region review every detail of the local laws.

Also for people who have engine powered bikes, the same laws and regulations apply. If you are younger than 16, you must wear a helmet. If you are using an electric powered bike, of about 1,000 watts or a maximum speed limit of 20 mph, the same rules apply.

Lastly, if you are using a combustion engine-powered bike, the engine must be smaller than 50cc. if the engine is bigger, it will be taken for a moped.

Thank you very much for reading. If you have questions, put them in the comment section below.

Laws

In Georgia, there are laws and regulations concerning Moped and Scooters. These laws vary depending on registrations, insurance, and licenses. If you are a Moped rider in Georgia, you will not need to insure or register your vehicle; a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit is ok. Also, if your scooter has an engine with a displacement of 50cc or more, it will be subject to the same rules applicable to motorcycles. As a scooter driver, you will get a motorcycle license and insurance to use it.

Georgia Moped Laws

Georgia Laws state that ‘’Mopeds are 2 or 3 wheeled vehicles capable of producing a maximum of 2 horsepower or an engine displacement of 50cc’’ Mopeds cannot be legally operated on public roads where speed limits is greater than 35 miles per hour. If you want to operate a Moped in Georgia, you must be at least 15 years old and have a valid learner’s or driver’s license. Riders of mopeds are restricted to roads where the minimum speed limit is 35 mph or less. Also, if you are a Moped driver, you MUST wear a helmet.

Georgia Scooter Laws

Normally, Georgia does not make any distinction between scooters and motorcycles. This is because scooters have engines of over 50cc. They have the same license, registration, and insurance laws as motorcycles. Some scooters even have up to 150cc engines especially those produced by Honda, Yamaha, and Vespa. If you want to operate them legally, you must get:

  • Firstly, a motorcycle license
  • Secondly, current registration
  • Thirdly, for insurance coverage levels, get bodily injury liability insurance of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
  • Lastly, property damage liability insurance worth $25,000 per accident.

If you want to get a Georgia motorcycle license, you must be at least 17 years old. You must also pass road skills and vision as well as a knowledge exam.  If you take a state-endorsed exam, you will not take this test.

On the other hand, electric-Kick scooters have different guidelines. This is because they are larger and gas-powered. Riders of this type of scooters do not need a license, insurance, or registration. If you have an electric scooter, you can ride on bike lanes, paths, and on roads with a speed limit of 35mph or less. Do not use it on sidewalks, if you are less than 16, wear a helmet. Before you ride scooters in your region review every detail of the local laws.

Also for people who have engine powered bikes, the same laws and regulations apply. If you are younger than 16, you must wear a helmet. If you are using an electric powered bike, of about 1,000 watts or a maximum speed limit of 20 mph, the same rules apply.

Lastly, if you are using a combustion engine-powered bike, the engine must be smaller than 50cc. if the engine is bigger, it will be taken for a moped.

Thank you very much for reading Moped and Scooter laws. If you have questions, put them in the comment section below.

Social Media: Facebook, Twitter, Wikipedia, LinkedIn, Pinterest

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here